Configure a Group as an Emergency PTT Group
Emergency PTT calls offer an insistent flashing visual signal and must be acknowledged by all available group members. First the group must be created in the portal, and then the group members must each be configured to be part of the group. To enable this calling feature, first create a closed group that will be configured as the Emergency Call Group. Be sure to choose "Without Initiator" for the cleanup call option.
Create a template
Users may be individually set to emergency groups individually, but per best practices it's best to use a template. In this example, the template tab is at the departmental level. Select the Settings template type and then select add.
Add the template name.
Select Assign Users and then select Assign users to add users to the template.
In the template, under the settings tab, go to the emergency tab and click on the Call tab. The default setting is "None." The drop down menu shows that there are two choices, Configured Group and Current TX.
Configured Group
A configured group option ties the emergency PTT call behavior to a specific group that you select in the drop down menu for Emergency Group.
| Smartphones that have the Emergency PTT call setting tied to a group will display the "Hold for Emergency" banner across the top. |
Current TX
Current TX means that any group may be escalated into an emergency PTT Call. There is no need to select an Emergency Group. Please note: This means that some group types, such as surveillance groups, may be escalated in to a PTT group. We do not recommend this.
| Smartphones with Current TX and no group with a selected TX will show a faded red banner, as shown. |
| Once a group is selected with TX, the banner will change to "Hold for Emergency" with the name of the group designated as Emergency named. Once the TX is deselected, it may take a presence cycle update (between 6-12 minutes) to reflect the change on the screen, unless a presence update is forced. |