Create or Modify a Group
Portal Administrators have the ability to create groups under the departments tab, and once members are added to the groups, the groups will display as channels on the channel tab of a device. Add many groups at a time using the bulk template tools.
Personal and Member groups are created and controlled by individual users on their devices, if they have the appropriate Feature Key "Allow Group Management" permission enabled (link). These groups will be visible in the admin portal.
Add a Group
Begin by selecting a department. Then, click the Groups tab. Select "Add."
In the resulting popup menu, fill in the group name. Names must have no more than 32 characters and may not contain a space in the name. Adjust the other fields now, or use the default parameters as shown, and modify the group at a later time.
The fields are described below. Option availability may depend on group type. Changing fields manually will designate the group type as "custom."
| Field Name | Description | Menu Type |
| Group Name | The name that will display in the portal and on the group member devices. Names must have 32 characters or less and contain no spaces. | Fill in |
| Group Description | This information will display on the group or channel settings tab. Long descriptions are permitted but the display space on the device will be limited depending on the size of the device and screen. | Fill in |
| Group Type | The types of groups offer different options for member behavior and Group types are described here. | Drop Down |
| Group Priority | May be assigned from 0-5. Higher priority groups can interrupt other ongoing PTT calls and pull in members. | Up-down arrow |
| Caller Option | Determines who has ability to initiate a group call. Leave as default, unless you wish to create a dispatch group based on calling privileges. | Drop Down |
| Cleanup Call | Determines conditions for PTT call end, such as: the initiator ends the call for all users, after a preset idle time, or when there is only one member left in the call. Note: For Emergency PTT groups, choose without initiator. | Drop Down |
| Idle Timeout | Adjustable countdown timer, in seconds, to conclude the call in an idle state. The default timeout is 30 seconds. Lower the idle timeout for operating in scan mode to facilitate quicker switches between channels. Note: this applies to PTT calls only and not External Network call behavior. For assistance with External Networks, please contact Support. | Up-down arrow |
| Max Talk Burst Duration | In seconds, the maximum talk burst time. | Up-down arrow |
| Allow Hiding | Determines if the group may be removed from a user's group list while still retaining that user's membership. | Select |
| Searchable | Determines if nonmembers within a department may search the group to call. For use with open group types. | Select |
| Alert on Call Start | Play a tone on call start. | Select |
| Listen Only | Allows members to be created with Listen Only permission. | Select |
| Large Groups | The large group feature is not available in every portal. Large groups permit up to 3000 members. Large groups are not able to use the in-call map, messaging and user call lists features in the way that the standard groups do. This option is currently available for customers with servers 5.xx and newer. Contact Support for further questions and assistance. | Select |
| Channel | Assign the group to a channel number, from 1-999, in order to organize the channel tab. | Up-down arrow |
Assign Members to Group
Once the group is created, populate the group with users from the department that contains the group or users from associated departments. From the groups tab, select the newly created group, click on the members tab, and select Add. In a new group, this field will be empty. Add (or remove) members to an existing group by the same method.
The resulting popup menu will include available users. Select the kind of group membership based on the options available, which are dependent upon the type of group. Then select the users, making sure the box next to the username is checked. Once a user is selected, check submit.
The confirmation window affirms that new group members have been successfully added.
Modify a Group
In the popup window, modify group settings as needed. Changing the group settings may require alteration of group membership permissions.