Feature Keys
Feature keys control the appearance, behavior and capabilities of the app for each user.
Feature keys may be turned off by a customer admin. When enabled, the feature key button will be darker grey, appear shadowed, and is identified with a check mark on the left side of the button. As shown below, the default view for a new customer and new user displays channels, and that the default tab view is the channel tab.
Edit Feature Keys
Feature Keys may be customized on an individual basis or for a group of devices using templates. To change feature keys for a particular device, begin at the Users Tab. Click on an individual user. Under the Settings tab, click Edit Feature Keys, as shown.
Modify the user's Feature Keys by selecting or deselecting the individual items. A darker color and check mark indicates that the item is enabled. Press "submit" when finished. The changes will be pushed out to the individual user's device.
Please note that there may be slight variations in the default feature key templates and menus. Each portal may also vary slightly in terms of options and default choices. Please contact Support for any assistance.
Feature Keys
Management Features
| Management Feature Key | Description | Default |
| Allow Contact Management | Allows user to add or remove contacts on their device. | On |
| Show Contacts Tab | Displays the contacts tab on the device. | On |
| Show Settings Menu | Displays setting menu on the device and permits the user to view and change app settings. | On |
| Allow Group Management | Allows user to create or remove groups on their device. | On |
| Show Groups Tab | Displays the groups tab on the device instead of Channels. | Off |
| Default Tab View | Selects the default tab that displays once the map is opened. | Channels |
| Allow Deactivation | Allows the user to sign out of ESChat. In order to sign back in, the user must have an activation code. | On |
| Show Map on Client | Displays the map tab on the device. | On |
| Show Channels | Displays the channels tab on the device. Note: may not be used with the Groups Tab. | On |
PTT Features
| PTT Feature Key | Description | Default |
| Allow DnD | Allows the user to set a global Do Not Disturb. | On |
| Single Channel Isolation | Blocks all channels on the channels list when one is selected TX. Applicable for D-Pad devices. | Off |
| Show Recents Tab | Displays the Tab that allows the user to view recently placed or missed calls. Recommend: On | On |
| Single Call Selected TX Priority | If set, client will send the selected TX to the server when in single call mode. Recommend: Off | Off |
| Allow Call Block | Allows the user to block individual contacts and groups. This feature key overrides other individual group membership permissions. A group member with permission to block will not be able to block that group if this feature key is off. Recommend: On | On |
Location Features
| Location Feature Key | Description | Default |
| Send Client In-Call Location | Sends periodic in-call location. Recommend: On | On |
| Force Duty Mode | Displays Duty Mode menu option on the device. | Off |
| Send Client Idle Location | Sends periodic idle location. Recommend: On | On |
| Enable Location Tracking | Enables client to send periodic location measurements, which are stored on the server. | Off |
| Allow Location Disable | Displays "Disable Location" menu option on the device. Recommend: Off | Off |
| Tracking Report Period | Location tracking report period in minutes. Used in combination with Enable Location Tracking. | 10 |
Messaging Features
| Messaging Feature Key | Description | Default |
| Enable Messaging | Enables messaging app to work. | On |
| Request to Talk | Send pre-canned request call back messages to a user who is busy with another call. Android only. | Off |
| Group Blocking | Restricts sending and receiving secure messages in a group to users who have the group unblocked. | Off |
| Message Delivery | Receives messaging in the app. | On |
Technical Support Features
| Technical Support Feature | Description | Default |
| Client Debug Filter | The level of information displayed in client debug logs. For best results, leave at default levels unless specifically instructed to adjust per ESChat Support. | ERROR WARN STATE DEBUG EXCEPTION |
Feature Key Templates
If your user has been assigned to a template, this message will appear when an attempt is made to edit Feature Keys.
In order to edit an individual user's Feature Keys if they are assigned to a template, you must first remove them from the template. Click on "Unassign from Template" button. Once there, you may click on Edit Feature Keys to complete your modifications. To edit the template, go to the template tab, click on the template, and the feature key will be modified for all of the users assigned to that template.
Users may refresh their screen to see the feature key changes. Otherwise changes will take a full registration cycle to take effect, around 10 minutes.